Changes To Oklahoma Alternative Fuel Technician Licensing Now In Effect
Changes have been put into effect regarding the Oklahoma Department of Labor Alternative Fuels licensing program. Below is a summary of the changes. You can review the complete statute by clicking the link below.
Changes as they relate to alternative fuels companies:
- Alternative fuels company applications for renewal are now being accepted. Please submit completed company renewal applications as soon as possible. Renewing applications must be submitted/postmarked no later than October 1, 2015 to avoid a late fee of $10.00.
- The insurance requirement has been increased from a minimum of $50,000.00 to a minimum of $1,000,000.00.
- An Oklahoma Department of LaborHire/Termination Form must be submitted by a company when an alternative fuels technician or trainee is hired or leaves the company’s employment.
Changes as they relate to alternative fuels technicians:
- Renewing technician applications must be received or postmarked no later than October 1. Applications submitted/postmarked after October 1st will require a late fee of $10.00 and applicant will be required to retest.
- Proof of insurance is now required to be provided by alternative fuels companies. Technician applicants are no longer required to provide proof of insurance.
- All technician applicants are required to be employed by a licensed alternative fuels company before the technician’s license can be issued. Technician licenses issued after September 1, 2015 will expire on the last day of the technician’s birth month. New and renewing technician license issued after September 1, 2015 will be printed with fuel endorsements, such as CNG (compressed natural gas), LNG (liquefied natural gas), LPG (liquefied petroleum gas), EV (electric vehicle) and HYDRO (hydrogen alternative fuel). The technician will be required to provide proof of eligibility for the requested fuel endorsement.
- A fee of $50.00 will be charged for each fuel endorsement.
- New technician and trainee applicants must have their applications signed by the employing company’s manager/owner.
- Renewing compressor technicians will be renewed as a Compression Technician Level One.
- Compressor Technician Level Two licenses will require a separate application and fee. See statute below for Compressor Technician Level II licensure requirements. Contact a CareerTech test center to make arrangements to take the Compressor Technician Level Two skills test and exam after September 1, 2015. CareerTech will require an exam fee. A list of CareerTech test centers is available on the Oklahoma Department of Labor website.
Title 380:80-7-6. Certificate qualification and transfer or loan of certificate
(E) The experience, training, and examination requirements for a Level 2 (Mechanic) certification shall include, but not be limited to:
(i) Possessing at least three total years of experience consisting of:
(I) One year of documentable experience with an associate's degree in Natural Gas Compression; or
(II) One year of documentable experience with approved industry certifications as approved by the Committee; or
(III) Three years of documentable experience without the aforementioned education or industry certification. This requires a signed affidavit from current and/or former employer(s) to verify experience.
(ii) Passing an approved Level 2 written exam.
(iii) Passing an approved Level 2 skills test.
(F) Level 2 licensees may perform all duties necessary to install, repair, replace, service, inspect, modify, and/or maintain a fill station. Nothing in these rules shall entitle a licensee to perform work without all licenses required by law.
- Changes in the statute allow for an alternative fuels trainee certificate. There is no fee for a trainee certificate. Trainee certificates will expire on the last day of the month of the trainee’s birth month and are to be renewed annually.
- A completed trainee application signed by the employing company’s manager/owner is required before a trainee certificate can be issued. See the Trainee Registration application for additional certification requirements.
Title 380:80-7-7. Alternative fuels trainees
(a) An alternative fuels trainee shall be employed by a licensed Oklahoma alternative fuels conversion company.
(b) A trainee shall work under the direct supervision of a licensed alternative fuels equipment technician.
(c) There shall be no more than two (2) alternative fuels trainees per licensed alternative fuels equipment technician at any licensed Oklahoma alternative fuels conversion company.
(d) An individual that holds a trainee license can engage in any licensed category pursuant to this Chapter while under the direct supervision of an individual holding the appropriate license in the category of activity being performed.
(e) An alternative fuels trainee must submit a trainee application to the Department of Labor within fifteen (15) business days of being hired by a licensed alternative fuels conversion company.
Technicians and trainees are required to submit an Oklahoma Department of Labor Change Information Form any time changes in contact information occur, no later than thirty (30) days of such change
All applications and forms are available on the Oklahoma Department of Labor website by clicking on the following link and looking under "Forms".
Please contact the Oklahoma Department of Labor if you have questions regarding the Alternative Fuels Licensing Program:
Alternative Fuels Program Coordinator
Oklahoma Department of Labor